See where the MEAC and SWAC softball champions start in the NCAA tournament

Jackson State and Morgan State have earned trips to the NCAA Division I softball tournament, and on Sunday they found out which programs they will face.

The Tigers, champions of the Southwestern Athletic Conference, will face No. 9 seed and Southeastern Conference semifinalist LSU in the Baton Rouge region. Jackson State defeated Florida A&M 3-1 in Friday’s championship game. to claim their first SWAC title since 2011.

The Bears, who needed to win four games in two days to win the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference championship, will face No. 10 seed and Atlantic Coast Conference champion Duke.

Morgan State rallied from the losers bracket to eliminate Maryland-Eastern Shore, South Carolina State and North Carolina Central.

The Bears then defeated crosstown rival Coppin State 5-1, 6-0 on Saturday to secure their first conference title since 2021.

The NCAA softball tournament consists of 64 teams (32 conference champions and 32 at-large bids) spread across 16 regions. The top 16 seeds will host a regional, a double-elimination bracket. The winner of each region will advance to the Super Regionals.

After eight teams remain, the Women’s College World Series will take place at USA Softball Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.